Thursday Mar 16, 2023

Ep 4 NAEMT Radio – Lighthouse Leadership Project

In this edition of NAEMT Radio discuss the EMS Lighthouse Leadership Program with David Edgar, Director, Region III and Rommie Duckworth, Director, Region I. Both Dave and Rom are involved with the program and are actively mentoring the first cohort (Class of 2022). NAEMT Radio is hosted by NAEMT Member and Lighthouse Leadership Mentor - Rob Lawrence.

About the Program

James O. Page, the founding father of modern EMS in the United States, had a vision to create a mentorship program for EMS practitioners to guide and support them in achieving their leadership goals.  He called it the “EMS Lighthouse Leadership Program.”  Although Jim passed away before he could implement the program, other leaders in EMS inspired by Jim’s vision have developed the framework for this new EMS mentorship program.

Each Lighthouse Leadership participant (mentee) will be matched with an EMS leader (mentor) who possesses the specific knowledge and experience to help the mentee map out a personal career plan, develop a strategy to achieve career goals, and provide support throughout an 18-month mentorship.  Mentees will participate in an orientation program followed by regularly scheduled virtual meetings with their mentor.  The program will culminate in the mentee participating in a graduation event to be held in conjunction with EMS World Expo.

This committee shall implement a program to identify, develop and mentor the next generation of EMS leaders. Responsibilities shall include:

  • Developing and refining the program structure
  • Recruiting, selecting, preparing and monitoring mentors
  • Recruiting, selecting, and preparing mentees to participate in the program
  • Providing leadership development workshops for mentees
  • Tracking the progress of all mentees
  • Evaluating the mentorships on an annual basis.

Committee Chair: David Edgar and Members: Juan Cardona, Chris Cebollero, Rom Duckworth, Baxter Larmon, Jon Politis, Macara Trusty, Shannon Watson and Steve Wirth.


About Rommie Duckworth, Director, Region I (2023-2024)

Rommie L. Duckworth, MPA, LP, EFO, is a captain, shift commander, and EMS coordinator for the Ridgefield Fire Department in Connecticut. He is also founder and director of the New England Center for Rescue and Emergency Medicine. Duckworth is a dedicated emergency responder, author, and educator with more than 30 years of experience working in career and volunteer fire departments, hospital healthcare systems, and private emergency medical services.

Duckworth has contributed to the NAEMT AMLS and PHTLS textbooks. He is a 2021 recipient of the NAEMT Presidential Leadership Award for his work on the Lighthouse Leadership Committee, for which he also serves as a mentor. Duckworth is also the recipient of the American Red Cross Hero Award, Sepsis Alliance Hero Award, the EMS10 Innovators Award, and the Western Connecticut Health Network Lifetime Achievement Award.

He is the NAEMT representative to the American College of Surgeons Rural Trauma Advisory Committee, the CT-EMS for Children representative for the Ridgefield Fire Department, and an instructor for EMS, fire, rescue, law enforcement, and dispatch education programs.

He’s the author of "Duckworth on Education," as well as chapters in more than a dozen EMS, fire, rescue, and medical textbooks and over 100 published articles in fire and EMS magazines. He holds positions on other national and international advocacy and advisory boards, where he continues to work for the advancement of emergency services professions.

About David Edgar, Director, Region III (2022-2023)

David Edgar, MHA, CCP, is the assistant chief of EMS for the City of West Des Moines, Iowa. Edgar started his career as a volunteer with the department in 1986 and is starting his 36th year in EMS. He obtained his Master of Healthcare Administration in 1999.

Edgar is a member of the Iowa Department of Public Health’s Highly Infectious Disease Committee, the FEMA Region 7 EMS workgroup, Iowa EMS for Children Committee, the regional implementation committee for Pulsara, Metro STEMI and Stroke Committee, and is the EMS representative for the Des Moines Metro Emergency Departments Committee. In addition, he also serves as Chair of the NAEMT Lighthouse Leadership Committee and represents NAEMT on the CAAS Board of Directors. Edgar was recognized as the Iowa Career Paramedic of the Year in 2000. He was the recipient of a 201 3 JEMS EMS 10 Innovators in EMS Award, AAA Star of Life Award, and an NAEMT Presidential Leadership Award.

Comments (0)

To leave or reply to comments, please download free Podbean or

No Comments

Copyright 2023 All rights reserved.

Podcast Powered By Podbean

Version: 20240320